Stewart Copeland Debuts

Stewart Copeland Debuts

Skip to get tickets
Stewart Copeland Debuts

Stewart Copeland Debuts

Fri, Feb 19 - Sun, Feb 21, 2016
  • Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Heinz Hall


Marcelo Lehninger, conductor (debut)
Stewart Copeland, percussion (debut)
Andrew Reamer, percussion
Jeremy Branson, percussion
Christopher Allen, percussion
Edward Stephan, timpani



Concerto No. 1 for Trapset, Three Percussionists and Orchestra, “The Tyrant’s Crush” 

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 1 in F minor, Opus 10  
View Program Notes  

About This Performance

Best known as the drummer for super band The Police, Stewart Copeland joins the Pittsburgh Symphony to perform as percussionist for the world premiere of his “The Tyrant’s Crush.” Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 1, written and performed as a graduation piece from the St. Petersburg Conservatory when he was just 19 years old, was an instant success.

Explore & Engage

Themes and programs that give you a deeper, more meaningful and more personally relevant connection to the music!

Learn more about the Explore & Engage program


Note: All services may not be available at all performances. Click the link above for accessible performance schedule or contact customer service for further assistance.