Dvořák’s "New World"

Dvořák’s "New World"

Skip to get tickets
Dvořák’s "New World"

Dvořák’s "New World"

Fri, Jan 25 - Sun, Jan 27, 2019
  • Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Heinz Hall
  • Ticket Prices
    starting at $21
CHEN Wu Xing (The 5 Elements) (PSO Premiere)
RACHMANINOFF Piano Concerto No. 1   
DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 9, "From the New World"  

Program Notes

Preeminent Chinese conductor Long Yu makes his Pittsburgh Symphony debut with Dvořák’s “New World” Symphony, inspired by Dvořák’s travels in America, yet steeped in his own Bohemian heritage. “One of the most admired pianists of his generation” (The New York Times), Inon Barnatan continues the Rachmaninoff Concerto Cycle with Concerto No. 1.  The program opens with the PSO premiere of Qigang Chen’s The Five Elements, a colorful fusion of East and West. 

A pre-concert talk, beginning one hour prior to the performance in the auditorium, will be led by Associate Conductor Earl Lee. This talk is open to all ticketholders.

Immediately following the concert, join us for an on-stage performance of movements from Bohuslav Martinu’s Three Madrigals for Violin and Viola and Johan Halvorsen’s Passacaglia in G minor on a Theme by George Frideric Handel, featuring Jennifer Orchard, violin and Tatjana Mead Chamis, viola. This performance is open to all ticketholders and you are encouraged to move closer to the stage to enjoy this special performance!


Run Time: This performance will run approximately 2 hours, including intermission.


Sponsored by